Married, with Children

Trojan

Married, with Children

Post by Trojan »

I know this has been covered a bit, but I know some of the posts are older and possibly forgotten?
I have been a certified teacher here in the U.S. for 10 years. I taught for 2 years in Poland doing ESL stuff too. Certified in English, Social Studies, and Psych.

And I'm married, have a non-teaching spouse, and have an 8 month old and another on the way. Every school's dream, right?

1. Just curious on my chances of landing a position. I know it'll be tough.

2. Would love to hear from current families out there. I know there are a lot of teaching couples out there, would like to hear from them. Advice? Do's and Don'ts?

3. I ESPECIALLY would love to hear from any people out there who have non-teaching spouses and kids. Do you exist? Advice? Do's and don'ts?

Thanks in advance,

Trojan
beijing2003

Post by beijing2003 »

If you were a single teacher, you'd be incredibly employable - you have been teaching 10 yrs, have some overseas experience, have some ESL in your background and teach subjects every school offers (english/SS) as well as a subject that is growing rapidly and is hard to staff (Psych).

What will concern some schools is that you have 2 dependents (and another on the way). Some of the major schools - JIS, IS Beijing, ISKL - have a policy of only paying for 1 dependent per teacher. Thus, they may offer you a position, but only pay the health, flights, tuition etc for one of your 3 dependents.

However, don't give up hope. I worked at a school that employed a teacher with a child whose spouse was not teaching. Put yourself out there and see what response you get - you've got to be in it to win it!

Good luck:)
Trojan

Post by Trojan »

Oh, I'm still sending out a bunch of cover letters and resumes. Am not mentioning the dependent situation until an actual follow up occurs.

Going to UNI fair in January.