FBI background check arrest- which countries to avoid?

Cris16

FBI background check arrest- which countries to avoid?

Post by Cris16 »

Hello Forum Members,

I'm a veteran US based teacher and am considering entering international education in the future. In my research so far, it seems that most quality international schools require some kind of background check- the most common for US-based teachers being the FBI background check. I was arrested many years ago when I was in my late teens for a misdemeanor, alcohol-related (non-DUI) offense (underage drinking in my State). I was told at the time that it would be wiped (the conviction) from my record upon completion of some community service (which it was); however, nowadays FBI background checks report ANY interaction with Johnny Law. I recently checked and the arrest is there but not the conviction. I have had no issues with the law in the 25 years since.

This offense and the arrest was sealed (it is not eligible for expungement in my State) a couple years ago through my State's court and now is off most private background check services. However, the arrest is still on the FBI background check as the FBI is NOT obligated to update its information or to cooperate with State courts. Thus, I've done everything I can in to minimize the reporting.

I am comfortable informing future employers of this situation and explaining the specifics of the issue right from the beginning, if asked to disclose. However, I understand that this might cause issues in some countries that require a perfectly "clean" background check- I am wondering if anyone knows of specific countries where this would be an automatic disqualifier for a work visa? I'd rather just avoid these countries altogether. For example, I have come to learn that I would not qualify for a UAE work visa due to a "mark" (arrest) on my FBI report, which they require. Thank you in advance.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »