Advice for teaching couple?

Guero

Advice for teaching couple?

Post by Guero »

After lurking for some time, I am interested in some direct advice about transitioning into international teaching.

My wife and I are finishing our second years of certified teaching stateside. We both teach Technology related classes at the middle school level. She has a background in advertising and graphic design. I have a degree in Television/Film and we both received certifications to teach here post Bachelors. I also have one year of ESL experience in Madrid pre US teacher cert. and one year managing a hotel in Nicaragua. I am certified to teach k-8 generelist/esl and 6-12 technology.

I realize that since we both have our teaching experience in the same age group/subject (and an uncommon one no less) we are less marketable as a pair to a school. My question is what subject should I attempt to transition to next year so I can make us more appealing. I know that science and math are the big needs right now, but those are not strong points for me, and I would much prefer History, Geography, or PE.

Would a technology / History or PE couple with our teaching and international experience have a good chance at finding decent jobs? We also have two kids 3 and 6. I would like to bank 20-30k in saving s a year. We are fairly open to location with the exception of the Middle East.

Is technology /technology as crazy as it sounds? Just want to be proactive and set us up for success when we get serious about looking this coming year.

thanks
PsyGuy

Exploration

Post by PsyGuy »

Your both on the low end as far as experience goes, 2 years (and post certification experience is the only experience that counts) is the typical minimum that ISs will look at you.