Advice wanted

bobin85

Advice wanted

Post by bobin85 »

Hello all,

Sorry if this is the wrong forum - I don't understand the distinction between the two.

I've been reading the forums here over the last day or so, and there seem to be lots of knowledgeable and helpful international teachers giving advice to all-comers, so I thought I'd ask for some myself, if that’s ok. This is basically a "what are my chances?" and "what sort of schools should I be looking at?" appeal.

I've wanted to teach overseas pretty much ever since I wanted to be a teacher, aged 18 or so. I'm currently teaching mathematics at a top private school (not an international school) in London (in my native UK), and I have full UK certification to teach mathematics. I definitely want to stay in my current school for another couple of years before moving overseas (there are reasons for this, but they are boring).

I have a degree in mathematics from a (possibly "the") top university in the UK, which is technically a bachelor’s degree but is certificated as an MA. By the time I leave, I will be at least 29, with no spouse or dependents (hopefully!), having completed a newly qualified year in a state comprehensive school (I believe these are the equivalent of public schools in the USA), followed by at least four years at my current school. I also have six months experience of teaching mathematics at a remote school in a jungle in the South Pacific, but that was a temporary "Gap-year" style contract straight after university (i.e. pre-certification).