Dilemna/Questions....

Yankdude

Dilemna/Questions....

Post by Yankdude »

So I sense an offer is forthcoming from Hisar School (http://www.hisarschool.k12.tr) in Istanbul. I am scheduled for my 3'rd and final interview later in the week. I am excited about this school and location. I am also new to being an IS teacher - but have been in education for 15 years in public schools in the US. A few concerns - why hasn't this school been reviewed on ISR? I can't find hardly any info. on them. Is this a good or bad thing? Secondly, according to the Search profile on this school, the $ isn't all that great. I know Turkey isn't a high paying area, but the housing/moving package isn't bad. Hence my question, is it common to negotiate salaries with IS's (within reason of course)? I guess I am used to the US school system - where the salary chart says it all. Any info. appreciated.
traveler

it never hurts to ask

Post by traveler »

If you feel the money is low or there is a concern about housing you should ask and be open to their response. My friend was just offered a job with shared housing. This was a deal breaker for her. She asked and they offered her single housing. She would have turned the job down over this issue. You have to decide if it is a deal breaker or just a wish list item. Sometimes giving the best candidate a little extra is better than starting all over searching for a new candidate.
As far as reviews I am going to a school with no reviews and have the same question about why no reviews? Some schools are either new or perhaps people in general are satisfied and not super happy or super down on their schools.