Kazakhstan International School

jomaramo

Kazakhstan International School

Post by jomaramo »

Hi partners,

I've got an offer to work in Kazahstan International School, do you know anything about this school? And about Almaty???

Thank you!!!
hallier

Post by hallier »

There is only 1 review (a negative one) on ISR, and it is from 2009-10.

I hope you can get some first hand feedback on this forum.

All I can suggest is you ask some specific questions (about the school and the city) and also ask to speak to some of your future colleagues before signing up - if it is an elementary job, maybe people from your grade level or the PYP coordinator.

I hope it goes well:)
sevarem

Post by sevarem »

I've no firsthand experience in either school nor city, but one of the teaching couples at my school worked in Almaty for the past three years and they seemed to enjoy it quite a bit. Enough so that they both say they'd be willing to go back if the opportunity were right.

They have said that the winters are pretty harsh in Almaty, though not as brutal as Astana, the other major city, which is on the other side of the country. They've gone at length about the blue skies and cleaner air (compared to where we are now) and the opportunities to go into the mountains and do outdoorsy stuff. They say owning a car is a must.

Good luck with your decision.
jomaramo

Post by jomaramo »

Thank you a lot for your answers.
redster

Post by redster »

Almaty is nothing to be afraid of. It is best suited to big city with Winters people and not smalltown warm area folks. We have enjoyed Almaty and find the city to be more and more European all the time. I have limited experience with KIS. I have worked with a couple of their kids and met a few of the their parents. So I can't recommend the school or not recommend it. Housing is a must and enough to afford a car would be helpful. Biggest expense with living in Almaty is going somewhere else on break.
Danda

Post by Danda »