Southeast asia schools - frustrated

ahisc10

Southeast asia schools - frustrated

Post by ahisc10 »

Have I done the wrong thing by not going to a job fair this year? My school term started at the beginning of Jan and I wasn't able to go and instead have applied directly to schools.

I am wanting a position in Asia and have applied for schools in Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand and China. Most of these schools had deadlines at the end of Jan. Should I have heard anything by now?

I have 6 years teaching experience, 3 at IS (one only - private Japanese school with MYP/DP Program). I have had 3 years experience teaching DP Chem (SL and HL) as well as MYP Science and Math. I have also taught first year university chemistry whilst in my first teaching position in Australia, along with Biology.

I am single, female and have a degree in science (Biochem and Genetics) as well as a degree in education. I have presented at national science conferences and collaborated with two major Australian univerisities on education programs. I have experience with ESL and SN.

Should I be concerned? It is so frustrating waiting and not being sure of the future. I have applied to 16 schools (all at least tier one/two), is it a turnoff that I won't be at a job fair?
PsyGuy

Kind off

Post by PsyGuy »

Ok two DIFFERENT issues. First your more then qualified, thats not the issue. The issue is that this year schools want to interview, which means they are going to wait and see how the fair goes before making decisions.