recruitment question

qwerty

recruitment question

Post by qwerty »

Hello

would like to say that this forum is a great source of info. Well done to those providing all the insight. I am a teacher with 10 years of experience (6 as Head of department) teaching ICT and Business. I have worked in the state and independent sector (UK-both schools high achieving). I am also married with two young kids and my wife, although she has was in schools as support staff (LSA/Library) she is not a teacher.

I have applied to six or so places but have not heard anything back. Is it not likely that I will be offered something because of my status, or is it the norm that I have to apply to dozen places before I get concrete responses?

I will also be attending the April London search event although it might be a bit late for me, as I need to give a term's notice to my current school.

Any advice would be more than appreciated.
PsyGuy

Where

Post by PsyGuy »

Where have you been applying to?

Typically, schools like to sign the cream of the crop teachers BEFORE the job fairs. So maybe the top 1%-5% get contacted right away. Everyone else usually doesnt get anything until the job fair. Then about a month afterwords is when the leftovers get picked over. Thats when the leftover tier 2 schools and third tier schools pick up the leftovers who didnt get their dream locations or first picks.
wrldtrvlr123

Re: recruitment question

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

[quote="qwerty"]Hello

would like to say that this forum is a great source of info. Well done to those providing all the insight. I am a teacher with 10 years of experience (6 as Head of department) teaching ICT and Business. I have worked in the state and independent sector (UK-both schools high achieving). I am also married with two young kids and my wife, although she has was in schools as support staff (LSA/Library) she is not a teacher.