Comparing cost of living for three schools in Europe

NicoleMarieSchreiber

Comparing cost of living for three schools in Europe

Post by NicoleMarieSchreiber »

I am in contact and interviewing with three schools-- the American School of Madrid, the International School of Krakow, and the International School of Brussels-- and I would like to know anyone's thoughts about the costs of living between all of them. I am married with a non-teaching spouse, have two young children who would attend the schools, and I have nine years of experience. My husband works freelance with clients in the U.S. and would be providing some money to our budget, but I would provide the benefits. We would be renting our current home here for about $1200 and have some other debts to pay back home. We know how to budget and do not live extravagant lifestyles, but we would like to pay our bills and travel a little bit.

I like all of the schools very much and all of the locations as well, even though they are in different climates and different sizes in school population.

I am going to go through the numbers, but any personal thoughts from experience or otherwise would be greatly appreciated, too. Thank you!
PsyGuy

Im sorry

Post by PsyGuy »

How much is your husband going to contribute, thats the REALLY big question? I cant speak too much directly about IS Krakow, but the cost of Living in Madrid and Brussels, are going to really be about the same for you, after considering their packages and juggling the salaries, taxes, and various allowances they come out "about the same" and the truth is you will starve on 1+ income with 2 kids and a husband in those cities with that money. Let me put it this way, your housing and other fixed expenses will eat up pretty much your entire salary for a three bedroom villa/apartment.