Thank you in advance for information and advice

jandaan

Thank you in advance for information and advice

Post by jandaan »

Hello from a total newbie. I have read through a great deal of the forum as well as researched myself to death in the myriad online sites. If I might ask some questions here, at the risk of being told to "search before asking" I would really appreciate some insights.
I am a 55 year old nurse with a BS who wants to transition to teaching, ultimately teaching abroad. My current job as a nurse is primarily teaching adults, but I have no experience teaching children. My plan is to do an alternative teacher certification in the state of Florida which leads to full professional certification (elementary level). I then plan to teach for 2 years locally and try to get my middle school science certification. Once I have 2 years of experience it is my hope to get an overseas position, I really don't have a preference for countries. Is this a valid plan? What other things should I consider? What countries would I likely be qualified for? Any and all advice or comments would be appreciated.
IAMBOG

Post by IAMBOG »

If you are 55 and you need a year to get certified and then two years local experience, then you'll be looking for your first contract at 58. A lot of doors will be closed to you already, as many countries have age limits. You might want to forgo the local experience and try and get a job straight after certification.

Here are a few links you might want to read if you are considering working overseas.

How Old is Too OldTo Teach Overseas?
http://www.internationalschoolsreview.c ... rticle.htm

Old Guys Trying to Land a Position
http://www.internationalschoolsreview.c ... 2-2011.htm

Overseas and Over-50: Ask a Question, Share Experiences, Advice and Support
http://internationalschoolsreviewdiscus ... d-support/

http://internationalschoolsreview.com/v ... ht=sixties
BlueJay

Post by BlueJay »