EAL teaching requirements

earmstrong

EAL teaching requirements

Post by earmstrong »

Could anyone tell me a general outline of what requirements a decent international school has for an EAL teacher. I'm about to graduate uni (my major is anthropology) and I have a TEFL certificate (120 hours with approx. 24 hours of teacher pracs). Would I have to go get a postgrad degree in education? I would appreciate any information!
sid

Re: EAL teaching requirements

Post by sid »

The best schools are going to want a recognized teaching license plus at least 2 years of relevant experience after earning that license. The license could be a US state-granted certification, or a UK PGCE/QTS, or whatever your home country offers.

The worst schools will take anyone with a pulse and a parent who spoke English.

Other schools are on a sliding scale in between.
earmstrong

Post by earmstrong »

If I got a Master of Arts in the Teaching of Languages with an emphasis in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages would that count? Or would it have to be some other type of teaching certificate? Would my experience need to be in my home country or could I work at a language school or regular school overseas?
sid

Post by sid »

Some schools will require an actual license, as will some countries in order to get an employment visa. It's the safest route to go. For others, the Masters will be sufficient.
sid

Post by sid »

Experience can generally be in any country, but the type of school and type of teaching will matter considerably. Teaching in a language academy is very different than supporting EAL acquisition in a K-12 school, and the good and best schools will want you to have that specific experience.
earmstrong

Post by earmstrong »

sid wrote: