Shekou International School -China -NOT QSI

happydaze

Shekou International School -China -NOT QSI

Post by happydaze »

hello,

This is my first time posting on the forum.

Does anyone have experience with Shekou International School in Shenzhen, China??? NOT the QSI school.

There are not any ISR reviews. I also tried many Expatriate blogs and or web sites and the News Week article but it's all rather secondary data.

Anything: opinions, stuff you may have heard, personal connections and or actual work experience...

I am an experienced Int'l school educator of 12 years but cannot get a feel for ISS- Shenzhen.

thanks
beijing2003

Post by beijing2003 »

It is on my list.

My understanding is that it is a good school. It is a new school, and there is a heavy workload, as they build curriculum etc.

The fact that it is operated by ISS is a plus, as the package and facilities are very good.
gengrant

Post by gengrant »

In terms of Shenzhen, SIS is the school to work for. I worked for QSI and can tell you that even though QSI has more students, it is not because they are the better of the two.

Bob Dunseth, the SIS director, has been there for a number of years and because of this, has things at SIS humming along nicely. They have expanded campuses, and now have a separate HS facility (very nice). They have also just built a new outdoor sports facility as well.

I have several friends that have moved from QSI to SIS and tell me that it is a world apart.

Shekou itself is considered the "expatriate ghetto" as most expats live there and most never get out to experience China...they simply use the closeness to Hong Kong as a jump-off point to travel SE Asia. There is a great assortment of Western food in Shekou as well...

for info on Shenzhen, check out www.shenzhenbuzz.com and www.shenzhenparty.com

~gengrant
JJ

Shekou International School, Shenzhen, China

Post by JJ »