Advice on finding my first IE position

leipanga

Advice on finding my first IE position

Post by leipanga »

Hi! I got some excellent advice here a few years back about how to best set myself on the path towards an international teaching career. I'm finally ready to move from domestic teaching to abroad, so I'm hoping you knowledgeable people can help me out again!

I'm an elementary teacher with a CA Clear Credential and three years of full-time, domestic teaching experience. I have an additional two years of experience as a teacher in the Peace Corps, and one year teaching ESL in Asia (I'm aware these don't count as "real" teaching experience, but it does show that I can work in a foreign country). I also have a trailing spouse and two cats that we intend to keep with us (I know my trailing spouse counts against me).

I hope to find an international school position for the 2019-2020 school year, and I know it's time to start looking now! My primary concerns are a good philosophical/personality fit with the school, an interesting culture to explore, and an upper-elementary teaching role. Salary is a factor, of course, but it's not my main focus for this first position. We're open to living in a developing country. We're pretty open-minded about location, but are especially interested in Spanish-speaking countries and southeast Asia.

There are three options I'm considering, and I would really appreciate your input as to which you think is most productive!

A) Try to find a job on my own, by researching and emailing schools directly. Obviously this saves the expense of an agency and fair, but may also put me at a disadvantage without a face-to-face interview. I'm also concerned that doing my own research may mean accidentally overlooking good schools.