expired initial certification while waiting for professional

jboeh2

expired initial certification while waiting for professional

Post by jboeh2 »

My current New York initial certification recently expired. I applied for my professional certification about 6 months ago, yet am missing one 6 hr course on bullying (something that was implemented after my initial certification). I don't plan to return to NY simply to attend this 6 hour course, yet they seem quite set on not giving me my professional certification as a result. My question is will my expired initial certification hinder my chances of landing a new international teaching job (with visa/work permits), as I do not have a current teacher certification. I have about 6 years teaching experience and a masters in education, yet am missing this one component to be granted my professional certification. Very frustrating. I can possibly have my initial extended two years, yet this will come at an extra expense. otherwise, I can do this course when I'm back in the states, yet could be a couple years from now.

Thanks
Thames Pirate

Re: expired initial certification while waiting for professi

Post by Thames Pirate »

Yes, it can hurt!

Get the extension, do the course next time you are in the US, and be done with it.
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Unfortunately, yes, this could continue to be annoying and possibly job/career limiting for you. Some countries may want you to provide a current/valid teaching certification to obtain a visa. And, every communication you have with every prospective school will involve you either having to explain why your certification has expired or will involve you lying about it on some level when you list/refer to yourself as a certified teacher.