Advice needed for International teaching

misslondonteacher

Advice needed for International teaching

Post by misslondonteacher »

Hello,

I have just joined and was hoping to gain some insight on teaching abroad and potential locations.

I have been teaching for 4 years and am currently Year 6 lead and Gifted and Talented coordinator at a challenging state school in London. I have a BA honours degree, a PGCE and QTS. I am considering moving abroad for at least two years to teach at an international school.

Which countries could I look into which could offer me a good quality of life (including eating out as a vegetarian, sports/fitness, culture, weekend trips etc) and the potential to save at least £1200 a month? I hold a Hong Kong ID card and this is my preferred location to live and work, however I know how high rent is here and that competition is fierce. I am also very interested in Thailand and Singapore (understand the situation here is similar to HK).

I currently work around 50 hours a week and was hoping to find a school in which hours would be equal or less, although I am aware that International schools have high expectations and demands.

Are my ideals too unrealistic or are there options for me?

Many thanks in advance,

misslondonteacher
helloiswill

Re: Advice needed for International teaching

Post by helloiswill »

Miss London,

If your requirements are: to save $1500 USD, good quality of life (I'm assuming this means ample western amenities), and a reasonable workload.

It's hard to say how much you can save without knowing what your lifestyle is like. Since, you included it in your requirements, I'm going to assume your least capable at being thrifty when you need to be. I can also only comment on cities I have researched/been made offers by, or have friends who work there.