Advice on Growing as a Professional

santacruzin1

Advice on Growing as a Professional

Post by santacruzin1 »

...while at a poorly-run, dysfunctional and unstable school.

What would you suggest I do in this situation? Or, if you started at a crap IS, and worked your way into something better, how did you do it?

I'm a newly-qualified teacher, did TeacherReady while teaching EFL in Korea. Did my teaching field experience at a great school in Seoul, but they didn't have any openings for my subject area (Social Studies 6-12) when I finished. Took my chances on a school in Vietnam, knew that it wasn't going to be great, and let's just say the reviews on the paid side are 110% accurate. There's no PD budget, any PD given (if given at all...) in-house is a joke, admin aren't actually certified admin/don't have experience running other schools, ever-changing student & staff rules and inconsistently-applied consequences, loony assessment policies, little grade-level/subject collaboration, etc. etc. I just try to give my students the best lessons I can.

I've already footed the bill for my own PD a few times (Kagan workshops, Google Level 1 & 2, a recent edtech conference in HCMC), and I'm willing to continue doing so - but what I'm really trying to figure out is, how can I use this crisis of a school/work environment as an opportunity to grow as a teacher?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Advice on Growing as a Professional

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Well done getting yourself certified and a job teaching in an "int'l school". Also kudos to you for wanting to actually do a good job/better job even though you could probably mail it in and no one would much notice.