International teaching after career break

Nangu

International teaching after career break

Post by Nangu »

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on the forum, so forgive me if this topic has been covered before.

I am a UK citizen and have been teaching secondary here (in London) full time for 2 years. Prior to this I did my PGCE year and before that 2 years of inclusion/sen work within primary and secondary schools. I have always wanted to teach internationally, and it was the sole purpose of getting qualified.

Now, to my question.... In the past year I have been on maternity leave after having my first child. We (my partner and I) are thinking of having another one soon then making the international move. But after a 2-3 year career break, what are my chances? Are the any slimmer? Should I go back to work for another year after mat. Leave to impove my prospects?

Our first choice of location is the Middle East, namely Oman, Abu Dhabi, Dubai (in that order) as we have friends there and my partner could easily find employment in his field.

Any advise or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Stop all your family planing now. Sorry not to be rude, but your intentions are only going to increase the logistical factors in your marketability. The rule is you can do anything for up to a year and not impact your marketability, passed that and your resume begins to decay. As it is you are one IT who has a partner (really need more clarification, are you married?) If you arent married your arent likely going to get dependent benefits, especially in the regions youve outlined. Add a new child and now you are at 2 (maybe 3) travelers an IS has to accommodate. You are now getting expensive to fill one role/classroom. Add another child and you move into the realm of being a logistical nightmare and too expensive to hire at anywhere that isnt a first tier IS, and your resume isnt strong enough for those ISs.
Nangu