Non-teaching certifications/experience for trailing spouses?

leipanga

Non-teaching certifications/experience for trailing spouses?

Post by leipanga »

Hi! I've gotten some great info here in the past, including learning about the pathway I took to get certified, so I'm hoping to get some good advice again.

I'm a CA certified elementary teacher, currently working on getting a few years' domestic experience before moving to an IS. I'll have a trailing spouse, and we're starting to think about what (if any) certifications/work experience he could work on getting that would give him the best chance of finding employment abroad. IT, accounting, medical, and anything else-- I know that's broad! As it stands, in another country, his main assets will be his BA and that he's a native English speaker. We were wondering if anyone had ideas about what kinds of fields (besides teaching) native English speakers have luck finding work in. I know English tutoring work is often available, but he'd prefer to consider other options first.

I know that's all very general and vague, and depends a lot on location, visas, and everything else. I'm not looking for anyone to give me a specific, sure-fire solution; just wanted to hear some input about what kind of work non-teaching spouses might find abroad, or ideas for what he could be doing with these few years Stateside to give him a leg up in the future.

Thanks!
migratingbird

Re: Non-teaching certifications/experience for trailing spou

Post by migratingbird »