Middle School Generalists?

Helen Back

Middle School Generalists?

Post by Helen Back »

I trained as an upper elementary school teacher in Canada in a mixed cohort with middle school teachers. In my area of Canada elementary goes up to grade 7. I taught grade 7 for three years, two as a classroom generalist, then as a math and science teacher (although my degree is in a geography). I eventually moved on to another school, but elementary in that school only went up to grade 5, so I opted for that. I am now in another school teaching grade 4, which frankly is too young for me and I'd like to move up a few grades. However, if I move into secondary I would need to teach grades 6 to 12 as a subject teacher.

My question is, what schools have a defined middle school, where I could teach two or three subjects and stay in the grade 6-8 range. I like being a classroom teacher, but I would just like the students to be a bit older. Thoughts? Does it just not work like that in most of the world? Happy to teacher anything, but preferably not English/Language Arts.
Thames Pirate

Re: Middle School Generalists?

Post by Thames Pirate »

It's harder to teach secondary with your background (no high school), but not impossible. Social studies is a more saturated market than math/science, so you would probably want to go that route. If you can get experience and a license for HS science or maths, do that. But in the meantime, apply apply apply! Especially to math/science jobs.
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Middle School Generalists?

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »