I'm not competitive - next step M.Ed TESOL?

cms989

I'm not competitive - next step M.Ed TESOL?

Post by cms989 »

I have a CELTA and 2 years EFL teaching experience abroad, 1 in a decent (well known) language school. I know that counts for little but there it is.

I'm U.S. state-certified in history and my degree is in history. I have student teaching experience only.

After about 75 applications, mostly Search and some TIE, mostly history/social studies, I had 1 interview and got rejected. Since last year when I started applying, 3 of 4 of my interviews have been for schools in one ME country - not by choice I applied everywhere.

More recently I've been applying to ESL/EAL positions. I actually prefer it but before signing up for Search didn't think most IS hired them. I understand currently I'm not qualified for these positions but I figure if a school has a pull out or hybrid ESL program they might be interested. I understand these roles differ from a classroom EFL teacher in many cases, and are more learning support.

I actually really enjoy where I'm living now but am career-minded. I figure getting an M.Ed in TESOL would make me competitive for the EAL positions, move me up on pay scale should I go to the U.S., and make me more competitive in the U.S. I think I made sort of a wrong turn attempting to get into history and am dismayed at the reality of the job market that I would have to deal with for the rest of my career there. The M.Ed would also lead to state ESL endorsement (thought I could get that through simpler means). On a personal level I'm happy to keep living where I am.

Worst case I could get one of those university prep teaching positions in China that pay somewhere between a language school and an IS.

I'm posting this to get thoughts on my marketability (home or abroad) post-M.Ed or if I'll be back here in two years making the same post. Thanks for your thoughts

tl;dr how competitive is this person:

M.Ed C&I - TESOL