Landing your First IB Coordinator Job

AnotherIT

Landing your First IB Coordinator Job

Post by AnotherIT »

Just wondering what people would recommend at the best way to navigate the move from Teaching to Administration.

I am paying for my own IB DP Coordinator Cat #1 in the spring as my current school does not offer the IB Program.
I have taught both IB History and Theory of Knowledge in the past and really enjoy the program, but it seems like the move from teacher to admin is a difficult one.

I have experience running trips, organizing CAS at my last school and MUN at my past two schools. I have taken on the faculty adviser role for Student's Council at my current school, as well as creating a debate team. I have experience chairing a re-accreditation committee on school climate.

Previous to working in education I was a project manager for 9 years in the automotive industry and have experience coordinating teams of various sizes across multiple sites. (including multiple nations)

I guess I want to know, what do suggest I do, or high light to have someone give me a chance in admin?

Thanks
sid

Re: Landing your First IB Coordinator Job

Post by sid »

The easiest route is usually work for it where you are. Start acting like a leader. Volunteer. Identify gaps and fill them. Make yourself the obvious candidate for the next open post.
AnotherIT

Post by AnotherIT »

@sid,

I appreciate the advice, but I am currently in Guatemala and it is not the place for me.

Secondly, the school I am at is far too small and the admin here is entrenched. The school is a fine place to work, but I will not be living here another year. The high crime rate (had my wife's cell phone stolen from her backpack and our apartment robbed by a group that paid off our security guards) is something I no longer want to worry about.
sid

Post by sid »

Then find a new place and do it there.