DODEA Questions

rcoy2

DODEA Questions

Post by rcoy2 »

Hi guys,

I have a few questions maybe some of you can shed some light on. I'm looking into DODEA.

To be eligible for DODEA, I understand that I need specific credits in teaching methods for science, math, reading and language arts. I'm already covered in reading and language arts because of my master degree and I'm planning to do two courses to cover the science and math. I also understand that 3 credit hours are necessary in art OR pe OR music which can be waived if it has been taught for at least a year.

My questions are:

1) Having been working at my bilingual school in Thailand, as opposed to a US school, am I eligible to waive the art/pe/music requirement? I do teach both pe and art at my school.

2) When is the recruiting season for DODEA?

3) I have a master degree in education, a bachelor degree in English, a professional teaching license form Florida (in about 4-6 weeks after my background check is complete) and I've been teaching in Thailand for nearly three years now (two as a homeroom teacher in a Bilingual school in Thailand). Will this experience count for anything since it's not a US school or a US curriculum? (The curriculum is actually British).

If anyone can give me some answers I would appreciate it.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

1) No, experience for qualification only qualifies if it was obtained at a US accredited DS/IS. You can use an IS for step, but not to meet qualification requirements.
Its a moot point though, you are clearly looking at elementary positions and all elementary positions require 24 credit hours of elementary education coursework. Your BA in English wont count, and I doubt your Masters is in ECE.

2) It starts around May and then goes through around October with the peak in July. You need to have your EAS application done and confirmed in around March which is the renew period, otherwise you generally arent considered for that years recruiting.