Teddy Bear Mohammed issue

aasoudesuka

Teddy Bear Mohammed issue

Post by aasoudesuka »

I'm an foreign teacher in an Islamic country. The story about Gillian Gibbons, who was convicted of insulting religion because she allowed her students to name their teddy bear "Mohamed," is VERY disturbing. Consider that the name Mohamed is a name as common as Josh or Steve. The IT guy at my school is named Mohamed, as is the caretaker at my apartment building, both of the taxi drivers I usually call when I need a ride, one member of the teaching staff, and two of my students. One of my students goes by the nicname of "Momo." Am I insulting religion by allowing my students to use that nicname in place of "Mohamed"?

Is there is a conspiracy of silence in the international school community about the volatility of the Islamic world and what that means for teachers? With my heavy teaching load, I haven't made a lot of progress with Arabic language study, but one doesn't need fluency to register the angry hostility of ranting and raving that is broadcast from loudspeakers at the mosque at every Friday sermon. Our teacher housing is right next door to a mosque, and it is absolutely horrifying to me. At the same time there is a facade of modernization and casual attitudes that can lull one into relaxing one's behavior. Incidents like the current affair in Sudan should be a wake-up call. I just don't understand the absence of protest and response. Robert Bolous, the director of Unity School where this all took place, has refused to appeal the sentence. What message does that leave?
educator

Post by educator »

Just imagine calling fluffy little Ted 'Jesus' in the mid west. I wonder what the response would be.
aasoudesuka

Post by aasoudesuka »