MFL teacher in the UK considering IS Librarian positions

sliHSK

MFL teacher in the UK considering IS Librarian positions

Post by sliHSK »

Hi all,

I currently teach in the UK as a French teacher in an academy. It's my 2nd year of teaching. I have a PGCE in MFL + QTS and Induction completed (NQT). I also hold a BA in English done in France.

I am an active Search Associates candidate because I was thinking of starting an international career abroad next year as a French teacher (August 2017, I am considering Germany especially to start with, Asia later).

Now the thing is, having taught for 2 years (3 with my PGCE) I now know that it might not be the career I'd like to pursue in the long-run. In fact, I have always wanted to become a librarian, so I am thinking that instead of moving abroad straight away to find a job as a French teacher, I could do a CILIP master in Library Science in the UK. Then I would become a qualified Librarian, and could potentially use my 2 years teaching experience to find a job as a librarian in an international school straight away after my master, which would be August 2018.

My question :

- Do you think that BA + PGCE + 2yrs teaching experience in the UK + MA in Library Science could get me a position as a librarian in an international school (I would consider many countries, especially China). I want to think it is possible but would appreciate any advice, especially regarding the fact I'm not a native speaker (French) + would have no library experience except the MA.

Thanks
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Librarians are a niche field. A lot of them in IE have a lot more experience than the minimum entry into IE, and they have experience operating a library program which now includes a lot of technology proficiency.