Fair Question

munybse

Fair Question

Post by munybse »

I am in my second year of teaching here in the US. I spent 3 years in South Korea teaching ESL before coming back to get certified. I'm interested in going back.

My main question is about a fair. I'm looking at going to one here in the US, either UNI or perhaps BOS (Search). Is the Boston fair worth the added expense for someone new to international teaching?

I want to teach in either South Korea, China, Taiwan, or perhaps the ME.

Thanks for the feedback.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

What are you looking for? Your locations arent the focus of the UNI fair, its more LCSA, but there are ISs from Asia that make up about 25% of the fair. The ISs at UNI are a higher concentration of lower tier ISs. Youre also looking at the end of peak recruiting, its between BOS and SFO. Still its $50 for the fair and access to their small database.
There are more and better ISs at BOS, but its also a much larger database. UNI is a one and done event, there is significantly more utility in the SA database, but its $225, thats pricey if you go to BOS and are open to anything, anywhere.

At the stage of your IT career, BOS has better rewards, but more risks. I would strongly consider not using a service or recruiter at all. TIE is $39, TES and COIS are free. See what interest your application efforts accomplish. The locations you are interested in are generally hardship locations.
munybse

Re: Fair Question

Post by munybse »

Thanks for the input. I am a member of TIE since it is cheap, and I am putting out applications to some schools I am interested in.

Forgive my noobness, but what do you mean by hardship locations?
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

@munybse