Middle East and qualifications

mrwright

Middle East and qualifications

Post by mrwright »

I've read a lot on here about this, but still have something specific to ask. I'm currently teaching in China. I'm certified to teach social studies, gen science and bio. I'm teaching SS at the movement. My degree is in history. My wife, who isn't a teacher, and I are considering a jump next year cuz we want to save more money. We're open to many locations, but it seems the ME is a good bet. We're home bodies, so being cooped up isn't really much of a negative for us. I know I'm more marketable if I look for science jobs, but many of the job postings I see ask for a science major. I don't have that, although it is on my license. What are people's thoughts about how that might affect my job search. I've taught science in high schools in the states. Also, what are some realistic salaries and possible savings at jobs in the ME? I know that's super vague. Just some examples perhaps.

Thanks everyone
sitka

Re: Middle East and qualifications

Post by sitka »

In the UAE, to teach at a senior level you (theoretically) needed a degree in the subject you would be teaching. On the other hand, there were lots of work-arounds.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

If youve got solid performance experience in science on your resume and a credential that has a lot more marketability then a noob with a degree. I do agree with @sitka, there are restrictions but enough ways around them that its not an issue if the IS doesnt want it to be an issue. An IS hires you to teach history or social studies for the paperwork and then assigns you to what they really want you to teach (science).

6 figures isnt uncommon in the ME, and tax free.
mrwright

Post by mrwright »