PD worthy of the name

Amusing User Name

PD worthy of the name

Post by Amusing User Name »

Hi all,

I stumbled across this site a little while ago and I've been lurking for a fair few weeks now, wishing I'd had access to this accumulated wisdom and diversity of informed opinion at earlier points in my career.

To the issue at hand. I'm a new graduate of T-N, based in SE Asia. My question relates to renewing a Washington D.C Regular type II K - 6 license. OSSE cites inter alia: " A minimum of three (3) semester hours/45 clock hours of the professional development activities...directly related to the field (subject content) of the license being renewed. " Does anyone have any insight into regional (ideally based in SEA) P.D events/workshops that would meet this requirement? Ideally, I would like to take P.D that would help me hone my classroom skills and be more effective in the classroom, but at the very least I need to start banking my P.D hours.

I've started looking at EARCOS, but other than that I'm at something of a loss. Hopefully, the ISR gestalt can enlighten me. Cheers
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

One of the reasons I recommend DC is that OSSE is very liberal about what they will accept.
An easy place to start s contacting and enrolling in your local junior/community college back in your region of residence (in state tuition), you want a JC/CC that would preferably accept a lot of CLEP tests. As a primary IT who teaches everything you can comfortable take any course in the classical fields and use that for PD requirements. In-state CC/JC courses are some of the cheapest education credits you can get, you could fulfill your renewal requirements for very little coin.
Another inexpensive option is to take a CLEP test and then transfer that to the JC/CC transcript or take AP exams and transfer those to the JC/CC transcript.