Certification question (pretty unusual)

STEMteacher

Certification question (pretty unusual)

Post by STEMteacher »

OK, this will be an interesting story (for some maybe).

I have an engineering degree from Clemson University. I started my teaching career in Medellin, Colombia while opening a hostel. I only started teaching without a cert to make extra money while in Medellin. Fast forward 7 years, the hostel is sold and I am in the states working on my Master's of Education and working as a middle school math teacher in the states in an alternative licensure program. This year will be my 7th year teaching high school and middle school math (high school in China and the states for one year certless) and middle school now.

This alt lic program is three years but issues an intital license after you pass the Praxis II test and pass the initial course while you finish rest of the requirements. My Masters in Math and Science Education will be completed in the spring of 2017 but not my full alernative licensure program in South Carolina because it requires me to teach a third year in SC even though I have finished all if it's requirements.

The problem is that I want to finish my Master's and start teaching internationally where I can save money in 2016/2017. You can't save anything teaching in SC. If I leave the alternative licensure program before three years then I lose my license.

I have extensive knowledge of physics and math from my masters and my engineering degree.

What do I do? I want to teach Physics, science, or even high school math internationally after I finish my masters. I am signed up with ASSAA and Search for the 2016/2017 school year.

Is there a way to get a US certification in a different state and quit the SC alt cert program before the 3 years are up to land a good teaching job internationally?

Thanks in advance for the advice!!!
STEMteacher

Re: Certification question (pretty unusual)

Post by STEMteacher »