American School in Japan

theczechs

American School in Japan

Post by theczechs »

Hello,
My husband and I have been teaching overseas for 7 years now. We have covered the globe looking for an international post where we can "settle down". We are currently in Indonesia, not really a great planting point due to poor health care just to mention one reason.
We hope to enjoy our job, have access to outdoor activities and sports, travel and possibly start a family. Gee it sounds like a Christmas list. Anyway, we have our sights set on the American School in Japan (there are currently 4 positions that we are qualified for). We will be going to the SEARCH Bangkok fair in January and hope to get an interview. Any information you may have regarding the school, Tim Carr, or how to approach the school pre-conference would be appreciated.!!
Saiyara

Post by Saiyara »

I read your post. I am sorry that I don't have any direct info on this school other than knowing about it's top notch reputation. Best of luck to you guys on snagging a position!! :)
scotty

Post by scotty »

Hi, I'm interested to know why you are keen to leave Indonesia. Are you in one of the tops schools in Jakarta? I'm thinking of perhaps applying for schools in Jakarta myself and would like any information anyone can give me. Thanks.
theczechs

Leaving Indo

Post by theczechs »

Scotty,
No we are in Medan. A village of nearly 3,000 people. We are considering leaving for many reasons including the work load and poor health care.
Jakarta is like an even bigger village. The pollution is terrible, corruption is abundant and so is the traffic. However, there are many expats and many schools. As far as I am aware, JIS has the best package and facilities. Remember it is the 3rd world and your daily life in Jakarta will not let you forget that.
Lincoln

Post by Lincoln »