General Questions

REmmerink

General Questions

Post by REmmerink »

Hello all,

My girlfriend and I are in the process of signing up with SA in order to hopefully land a nice job for 2017-2018. We are however still wondering what geographical area to aim for.

A bit of background info: She is a ESL teacher, currently working at an IS in Mexico as a local hire (she is Mexican). She has been working at the school for about 7 years, but before that worked in the US (also for about 7 years) and received a teaching certificate which is by now expired. She does have two MEd degrees (in Ed. Leadership and International Education). I am a European, working at the same school (foreign hire). I have a teaching degree from Europe and an additional MA (international relations). We signed up for another year, which would be my third. I teach Socials and am also the H.O.D. Besides that, I recently got my Google educator certifications and am in the process of obtaining my Google Trainer certification as well.

Questions:
1. What region would we focus at according to you? We are not in it for the money, but would like to experience something new and fresh. We would like to save some money though and the benefits should exceed what we make now. However, that said, we do not really need to make over 100k a year or something like that.
2. Are we marketable. I guess she is, but am I? I know the market for S.S. teachers is saturated, but would it make a difference that we are looking as a couple?
3. If you have anything else you would like to share, please do so!

Thx in advance!
shadowjack

Re: General Questions

Post by shadowjack »

Get her certificate renewed ASAP. That will be an issue with some countries.

Then try SE Asia.
sid

Post by sid »

Don't bother focusing. Explore and enjoy. The only benefit to focusing is if you prefer to live in a particular region or have some other deciding factor. You seem open, so why limit your options.
REmmerink

Post by REmmerink »