Same-Sex Trailing Spouse... Worth Attending a Fair?

tellyrules

Same-Sex Trailing Spouse... Worth Attending a Fair?

Post by tellyrules »

Hi,

I did a search for similar threads, and I did find a few but the information seemed to be several years old.

I'm a certified elementary teacher with 3 years of experience; two of them in PYP. I'm looking to change to a new school for the next recruiting season, and was wondering about approaching the job search. This time though I will have a trailing spouse on my hands :)

She doesn't teach, but has a master's in economics and wouldn't mind helping out or tutoring kids in math, etc. depending on what she can do. She is Eastern European, and that's where her credentials are from.

Having said that, do you think it's worth it for me to attend a fair next year? We're pretty flexible on location, just probably not the Middle East or Africa, as we value our safety and freedom!

I was reading the statistics for the UNI fair, and they said 95% of folks who obtained an offer were either single with no dependents or part of a teaching couple. That for example makes me feel like it's not worth the effort...
shadowjack

Re: Same-Sex Trailing Spouse... Worth Attending a Fair?

Post by shadowjack »

There are schools who will hire you - but you have to beat the bushes to find them. And with you not in a high needs area, even with the PYP, it makes it tougher. I wouldn't give up hope, but it won't be easy.

You might want to ask this on the paid side forum...
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

You would likely feel very frustrated given the costs with attending the fair, and the likely outcomes. The issue is a couple factors.

1) A number of recruiters have very traditional values. They may not be open about them, but they are common.

2) A recruiter that isnt bias, may have ownership/parents that would not approve.