Credential Question

fitlee

Credential Question

Post by fitlee »

After reading more than dozen of posts, I think I have little bit of basic idea how this credential hunting game works. However, each person situation can be different. Please allow me to share my situation.

Most of my work/education experiences are from the States. My bachelor degree was in electrical engineering which I never used it. Instead, I taught piano privately for 10 years. After that, I studied my master in music education. Then, taught two years k-8 music in a private church school in CA. During that time, my school helped me to apply a temporary teaching certificate from ACSI (Association of Christian Schools International) which was expired in Jan 2016. This school year, my third year, I am teaching a 3rd tier IS in China. Although my current contract is one year, I will do one more year to avoid a 1 year job experience on my CV. And, I have dual citizenship in HKG and USA.

When I research into which program I want to study, I run in to some program only offer secondary or elementary level. However, I do not want to limit my future by age group. So far, I feel that I like both older and younger kids.

My short term goal: To have a teaching credential before hiring season for 2017-2018. So that, I may find a better job in HK/Singapore/Taiwan/Malaysia. Preferably, get my credential done before Oct/Nov 2016. But, putting on resume that I am working toward that credential is still good because I believe I can get it before school start in Aug 2017 if not sooner. After teaching internationally, I kind of like it and have no plan to move back to States with a lower salary and the excitement yet.

Originally, my 6 weeks summer plan is to go back to the States and study 3 weeks in two music classes, do some volunteering works and travel in South America. Now, I may want to dedicate sometimes for the credential thing like preparing for the PRAXIS if I needed to.

---