school benefits

jboeh2

school benefits

Post by jboeh2 »

Hello, I have been working at my current international school for almost two years. It has been a great fit, yet wanted to know your thoughts on a few issues. As I am nearly ready to resign another 2 year contract, I made a request for an additional benefit.

Current benefits include:
flight home for myself (when I renew a contract), yet not my wife or two children
health insurance for myself, yet not my wife or two kids.
kids schooling is covered
meals are currently covered.

I requested if in the new contract, insurance could be covered for all, yet this was declined.
secondly, I was told that some benefits, such as meals for kids and other administration feels would not be covered under the new contract. I was a bit surprised, as the benefits seems to go down, instead of up.

What are your thoughts on this? What are common benefits offered to families? (I know it can depend greatly on the school) I was told that in most international schools, teachers still need to pay 20-35% of the schooling fee for their children to attend, yet I haven't heard of this much myself.

Thanks
marina

Re: school benefits

Post by marina »

They are completely screwing you. What do you do for insurance for the rest of them? I hope you are in a first world country with great public health care. Have you started looking at listings? This school sounds horrible. Are all the teachers who are expats singles?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Where are you located? If youre in a region with a great social insurance scheme than providing private global insurance could just be a frivolous cost.
Benefits and OSH packages vary greatly mostly based on tier and region.