No job!

bounty

No job!

Post by bounty »

Hi,
I am sure I am in the same situation as other people. I teach in primary, but still have no job despite handing in my notice after 2 years at an International School in the ME in order to find a better position. I have over 10 years experience in the UK in high achieving but challenging schools, 2 years international experience, outstanding Ofsteds, a history of extra curricular experience and leading trips and leadership experience, but have not been offered any jobs.

I have only been offered 3 interviews after numerous applications ; one involved paying a return flight to London, losing 2 days pay and disrupting my class. I look at the TES forum and search.

Is it just me or is this how International recruiting goes? You just go through recruitment cycles until you strike lucky with a decent job? I was told that there was more international jobs than teachers, but I'm not sure this is the case as there are very few jobs on TES and Search, even across the world.

Any advice would be appreciated. I didn't attend a fair and think this was a mistake.
shadylane

Re: No job!

Post by shadylane »

When did you sign up, and start to look? My colleagues who moved this year generally had things wrapped up by November. One, who got his job in the first week in January, commented on how late they had got their job compared to everyone else.

How fussy are you being your location and which school you would apply to? Do you have any dependents?

What kind of experience do you have overseas? UKNC? PYP? IPC? You do sound very UKNC with your talk of outstanding OFSTEDs etc. Depending on the school, that could play against you.

Have you managed to get any kind of feedback from any of your interviews? Have you had anyone look over your resume and covering letter? How well do you sell yourself? How did you qualify for QTS? B. Ed? PGCE? Or School Direct / GTP? Some schools don't like SD / GTP.