Job Prospects: June 2016 Certification

Hanitizer

Job Prospects: June 2016 Certification

Post by Hanitizer »

I'm hoping someone can give me advice on international teaching without two years of experience.

A bit of background: I'm graduating in May with a M.A. in TESOL (with certification) from a U.S. school--I'll also be certified in Sp. Ed. as a result of the Praxis. My state lets you test into other areas. I won't actually receive my certification until June. I taught for 2 years in hagwons in Korea, so I have some experience overseas but no countable teaching experience. I also substitute taught 2 years--again not countable as experience but it might give me a leg up on newly certified candidates who have no real classroom experience.

So people here seem to agree the best course would be to teach two years (probably Sp. Ed.) in the U.S. and then apply to international schools. But I'm interested in going abroad immediately, and I was hoping people might have some advice on where to apply and what the downsides of such an approach would be.

Question 1) It looks like there's one posting in ESL in Africa that requires no experience on TIE right now. Do I have a shot at postings like that with no experience? I'm sure my references are good (student supervisor and mentor teachers). Is it worth even applying before I have my certification? I probably won't receive it until mid to late June. Is that too late to have a chance of finding a job?

Question 2) If I managed to get a job in Africa or the ME or some other hardship posting, would it negatively affect my career going forward? I don't have any real desire to teach in one of the best international schools in the world, but I don't want to be stuck at only low tier 3 schools either. I am also interested in teaching in Africa, so I don't see an initial placement there as a negative.

Question 3) Is an internship out of the question for ESL or Sp. Ed.?