Oman- Visas

AmberG

Oman- Visas

Post by AmberG »

Hello,

I'm looking into Oman as a future location to teach in a couple years. I am a female teacher and I'd need a resident visa for my husband (who is not a teacher, but would accompany me). I read some things that lead me to wonder if it is only men that obtain work in Oman who can bring their accompanying wives and that women who obtain a position cannot obtain visas for their husbands. Anyone know for sure? Obviously if the school hired me and I couldn't get a visa for my husband, it's not worth me looking here. Thanks in advance.
fine dude

Re: Oman- Visas

Post by fine dude »

A couple of years ago, a lady friend of mine was in a similar situation. She couldn't get a dependent visa for her husband so, she negotiated with the school and got him a coaching/tech support job. I'd contact the local Omani embassy if there are any recent changes.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

From a technical position this is true, women are in general not able to support dependent visas for a dependent male spouse. In practice an IS thats really interested in you (and since you are aware) can if motivated, make a peripheral offer to your male spouse as a consultant or professional staff appointment that would then allow your male spouse to enter Oman on a work visa, and no longer require a dependent visa. Its important to bring this up early, as some ISs simply do not realize this type of assistance would be required. This process is not uncommon, nor is it challenging its a modern way around a very culturally ingrained law. As long as an IS is aware and willing its hardly any effort.
austin

Post by austin »

Is this true for Saudi as well? My husband and I signed contracts in Saudi, but he can't get a work visa because he obtained his degree online. Saudi does not recognize online degrees.