Teaching Abroad from Sept or take a year to get a Masters?

Hannahuk34

Teaching Abroad from Sept or take a year to get a Masters?

Post by Hannahuk34 »

I have 3 years Mathematics teaching experience in London (PGCE) and 1/3 masters credits for a course teaching advanced maths (run by MEI and IOE). I don't have a maths degree but an undergraduate degree in Psychology, I did a conversion course to teach maths.

Options...
1. Pursue teaching abroad for September - and maybe settle for less prestigious schools who care less about the lack of maths degree.
2. Forget it for this year and instead complete the other 2/3 of the masters in mathematics education and start applying again next year.

Will International schools hold my lack of maths degree against me? Would a masters hold me in better stead for better jobs?

Any advice appreciated!

Hannah
shadowjack

Re: Teaching Abroad from Sept or take a year to get a Master

Post by shadowjack »

Hi Hannah,

there will be schools who take you now, but you might or might not enjoy your experience. Having the math masters would open up a better level of schools (opinions might vary) as well as possibly avoiding trouble with immigration authorities when your school applies for a visa for you (no direct math certification. Turkey, for instance, would not give you a visa to teach math at present).

My advice, finish the masters, it's done, and move on out.

Shad
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

What would be your plan to finish your masters if you entered IE? Once you move away it will be far more difficult to complete.

The rule is experience is King, no one cares what your background is if you have solid perfomance indicators in your teaching field and subject, and a lack of Masters with solid performance background will not make you unmarketable for upper tier ISs.