Returning Stateside to Teach: Plausibility? Tips?

bombayrichard

Returning Stateside to Teach: Plausibility? Tips?

Post by bombayrichard »

I've taught internationally for about twelve years but due to various circumstances am contemplating returning stateside.

My dilemma is that aside from student teaching, I have never taught in America (found a job final semester in Egypt through the UNI fair), and I don't know what my prospects would be. An additional factor is I've been at an IGCSE school the past five years.

I am certified in Colorado with a Masters, but wouldn't even land on American soil until July.

What has been the experience of others? I honestly don't even know if I could handle the discipline issues, etc. Sigh.
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Returning Stateside to Teach: Plausibility? Tips?

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

We went back after a shorter period of time then you have been overseas. As a SPED teacher I found no problem getting a job but my wife had problems as an elementary teacher finding a full time job.

I think that much will depend on what area you are going back to. Some areas of the country will have a much better job market and will have much better (or worse) behavior issues than others.

As for potential employers (principals) some will be put off by your extensive experience overseas, some will be fascinated and some won't care one way or the other. You will have to try and decide how best to spin or downplay your IGCSE experience to match what they might be looking for in a teacher. If you think you will be going back, start your job search as early as possible. Many states/districts have online job search portals where you can apply for positions and start making connections well before you are actually in country.

Other viable possibilities might be private schools, academies and even int'l schools who would probably place a higher value on your international experience and outlook.