Working in Beijing - Is it worth it? (i.e. damage to health)

TinMountain

Working in Beijing - Is it worth it? (i.e. damage to health)

Post by TinMountain »

Hi all,

This is my first time venturing into international teaching and I feel like I'm getting a good vibe from an international school in Beijing. It's also the only school so far that I've been getting a positive response from.

My question is - given the pollution in the city, is it worth it?

On the one hand, I already often have chronic asthma/allergy/nasal congestion issues that have me feeling less than 100% (I currently live in Northeastern US). I also have a 2 year old child that I'm not sure I want to expose to this kind of pollution so early.

On the other hand, my parents live in Beijing and I would love for them to get to spend as much time with her as my husband's family gets to now. I also have lived there before and I love (or used to love... so much has changed!) the city. And the school that I'm interested in has a very good reputation and would give me a great start to my international teaching career.

Both my parents and the school say that the pollution "isn't that bad" - but they clearly both have different motivations for wanting me there. The colleagues and admin I'm confiding with about my job search at my current school are trying to convince me that it's "not worth it" - but they all want me to stay, so...

So I would really appreciate any advice from you guys!!

Thank you!
IAMBOG

Re: Working in Beijing - Is it worth it? (i.e. damage to hea

Post by IAMBOG »