Teacher Attributes

twoteachers

Teacher Attributes

Post by twoteachers »

Since I'm still pretty green to IE, but not to teaching, I have come into a bit of a philosophical quandary. I have all the pedagogy and classroom management down to a science, but it seems I'm not warm and fuzzy enough for the parents at my school. My principal called me in and basically said it could be a potential deal breaker down the line if I don't fix it. Is that aspect really more important to these people than teacher quality? How do I go about basically changing who I am to fix this? What are your thoughts? I'm not good at playing games of this nature.
MedellinHeel

Re: Teacher Attributes

Post by MedellinHeel »

What a joke. I have heard of that in ESL Language Schools but not in professional teaching.

You might want to start putting together a contingency plan.
joanveronica

Post by joanveronica »

Did the principal give you specific examples of problematic behavior you need to change? How are you defining "warm and fuzzy"?
twoteachers

Post by twoteachers »

He said that the "perception" people have of me is that I'm too strict and not connecting with my kids enough. It's hard for me to be objective since I greet smiles in the morning, and say goodbye to smiles in the afternoon. I feel like I got punched in the gut with this.
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

LOL. You have to love admin who pull "stuff" like this.

My wife had a similar gut punch incident at an int'l school in China. It wasn't about being warm and fuzzy but the same type of nebulous negative feedback that leaves you feeling very vulnerable and insecure. In her case it was, "Are you happy here? You seem very negative sometimes. I don't see you smiling in the hallways."

One of her other teaching partners got the call into the office and was told that several parents had complained about something. She refused to tell her which parents and again very nebulous in what they were unhappy about.