Clinical therapist switch to behavioral school counselor ?

CanChi4

Clinical therapist switch to behavioral school counselor ?

Post by CanChi4 »

Currently I am a child therapist at an agency in the US, and I wonder how well a licensed therapist (masters level) position translates into a school behavioral counselor position overseas - particularly Asia. That's our target area (family connections). I am interested in an elementary or middle school counselor position. My husband is also in the mental health industry but upper management. Our thought process was for one of us to do private practice (for expats) and the other to work in a school. We have 2 school age children. Husband has many years experience, I am a couple of years out of grad school.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

This is going to be harsh.

It doesnt, mental health (MH) is a small part of an IS counselors job, its larger at some ISs and smaller to non-existent at others. Its more a student management appointment then a MH position. There are going to be a number of administration and educational tasking that a clinical practitioner is not going to have experience with. In a more rural setting youd have more long term MH needs, but language will be a barrier with a local student population. In a more urban and metropolitan location you will have less MH needs that will amount to acute and crises management as students/parents will have outside MH professionals for long term MH care and treatment. The other side of the counselor position and sometimes this is a separate position is University/career counseling, which you very likely do not have experience or training with in a school setting.