Skype interviews and safety in Caracas

kjbar

Skype interviews and safety in Caracas

Post by kjbar »

Hi everyone,
I have Skype interviews set up with two schools in South America. One of the schools is in Caracas. I have some concerns about security, as well as product shortages. I've read previous posts on this forum about Caracas, but the most recent one was a year ago or so. I've also read the travel warning from the U.S. Department of State. Does anyone have more recent insights as to safety, as well as availability of basics like soap and toilet paper in Caracas? I'm a single female, if that matters.

Additionally, does anyone have tips for a Skype interview? I've never done one before.
jessiejames

Re: Skype interviews and safety in Caracas

Post by jessiejames »

I have a couple of friends who left Caracas at the end of the last school year due to safety issues. I'm sure Venezuela is a wonderful place, but from their stories, I wouldn't do it. You don't have to live in a country where people being shot on your street isn't a one-off. There has to be a better option. When I was job hunting, I must have received 4/5 e-mails from the British School in Caracas (despite politely telling them I wasn't interested in response to the first one) because they are finding it so hard to get people to stay. My advice is to focus on the other interview.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

If you depended on SOS travel advisories, youd never leave the country, they make everywhere sound dangerous (you should read about what some countries tell their citizens about travel to the US). Understand that parts of the US are some of the most dangerous places in the world.