Assistant Teaching Position in Germany + Job Fair Attendance

Natapop

Assistant Teaching Position in Germany + Job Fair Attendance

Post by Natapop »

I am only in my second year of teaching in a public school in Canada (primary, French Immersion). However, I would still like to try to get my foot into the international school realm. Because my (non-teaching) partner is European, for visa/work reasons, I would like to try to get a position in Europe (particularly in Germany or Scandinavia). I know that Europe is especially competitve, and that with my limited teaching experience (and no experience in international teaching), I don't have much of a chance at being hired.

I understand that there are many openings for teaching assistant positions (for native English speakers) at German international schools. If I was able to be hired for a such a position, could it be possible that a few years experience could eventually lead to transitioning into a classroom teaching position at the school, or count as international school experience when applying to other schools?

Being at the start of my career, I would be thrilled to gain experience (especially with the IB PYP) in an assistant position. However, I am unsure of whether or not such experience would recognized in a few years' time, or if I would essentially still be in the same position as I am now. If anyone has any experience/insight on assistant teaching postions, please share.

Lastly, I am not planning on attending nearby job fairs (Search Associates in Toronto / TORF) because of my lack of experience + narrowed geographical preferences. Does that make sense, or should I attend regardless?

Many thanks : )
sid

Re: Assistant Teaching Position in Germany + Job Fair Attend

Post by sid »