Window of Opportunity

Lebenstraum

Window of Opportunity

Post by Lebenstraum »

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the international recruiting scene, but my husband and I are registered with Search. However, from what I've been reading on here it seems that most people are not getting jobs at a fair, but rather just through Skype interviews, etc. So far we've seen a ton of postings for schools in Asia, but not many for the rest of the world. Is this still early? When is the real window of opportunity for getting teaching jobs? Mid-November to mid-December? Over by the Cambridge fair (the one we registered for)?
I would love some advice about the timeline. We're excited to see which schools will have openings for us both.
Thanks!
sitka

Re: Window of Opportunity

Post by sitka »

October/November:
- Strong schools generally hire difficult to fill positions with strong candidates. More competitive positions (English/Primary) are often filled with the second-half of teaching couples where the other member teaches a more specialized position.
-JIS, for example, has usually filled 2/3rds of their positions by the end of November.

December/January/February
- Tier 2 schools begin recruiting all positions and the hiring fair season begins (with the main fairs being Bangkok and London).

March/April/May
- There is usually another push in this period by schools in Western Europe (who, due to labour laws, allow teachers to give notice much later than other schools), and by less-than-stellar schools or those in less-than-desirable locations that have had difficulties making hires.

After May, you are in a take-what-you-can get position.

Overly generalized, but that is the basic pattern I've seen.

Sitka
Lebenstraum

Post by Lebenstraum »

Thanks, sitka! Having the timeline is helpful.

I guess it will also depend on how many schools have needs in our areas (math and social studies) and how many other teaching couples/teachers in general there are looking for the same things.