BA hon(2i) MSc and PGCE math. No IB. Am I employable ?

Jockboiox

BA hon(2i) MSc and PGCE math. No IB. Am I employable ?

Post by Jockboiox »

Can anyone advise if I am wasting my time in trying to teach in Thailand?
I hold a BAhon (2i) MSc and. PGCE in Maths QTS. I have 3 years experience teaching in UK at secondary school. I am 52years. Am I employable material for a good IS in Thailand? I do not have IB experience but willing to take a course.
MedellinHeel

Re: BA hon(2i) MSc and PGCE math. No IB. Am I employable ?

Post by MedellinHeel »

ISR should seriously put a sticky on the front page titled "Am I employable / What are my chances.." etc etc

When it comes to international schools, things vary a lot. You have low tier schools in places that might hire people without even a teaching license.

Generally speaking though, the main requirement is holding a teaching license. You can be fairly assured you can get a job somewhere in the world with one so long as you are not picky about location and quality of school.

For the better schools and locations it is gonna be tougher. You will most likely need decent experience (preferably IB or what ever curriculum the school uses), good references, and knowing people at the schools always helps increase your chances. Simple luck and timing often also play an important role in getting hired. There is no set in stone procedure and outcome for these type questions. Anything can or wont happen.

OP, just make a list of all the schools you would work at and ranked them. Apply to them and take the best offer you get.
vandsmith

Post by vandsmith »

Jockboiox wrote:
> Can anyone advise if I am wasting my time in trying to teach in Thailand?
> I hold a BAhon (2i) MSc and. PGCE in Maths QTS. I have 3 years experience
> teaching in UK at secondary school. I am 52years. Am I employable material
> for a good IS in Thailand? I do not have IB experience but willing to take
> a course.