Etiquette and expectations

steve416

Etiquette and expectations

Post by steve416 »

Hey all,

I had a couple questions about the coming recruiting season. A quick background on me: I am a primary teacher from Canada working in the PYP for the second year (Grade 5), I spent two years at an English National Curriculum School (so 4 years counting this year) both School in Eastern Europe. I am in my late 20's and would like to stay working in the PYP if that is applicable.

My partner works in Finance for a large multinational. We have been discussing making a move to Asia (I previously taught ESL there for a couple years). In my partners industry it seems like China or S.Korea are possible options for her to transfer. These seemed like reasonable options in my opinion as there appear to be lot of schools there and it would likely not be as competitive as Europe/S.E. Asia. Thoughts on any of the above?

My two questions are:

During the recruiting process what is the etiquette on mentioning my partner. We are not married but live together and would continue to do so after the move. The school would not need to sponsor her work visa, insurance etc. Conversely her workplace will not be sponsoring mine. I was thinking I would mention her at some point in the interview stage, any later seems too late and earlier seems ill advised? Anyone navigated a situation like this before?

Given my relatively limited search parameters (we have a list of just under ten places that are possible at the moment) do you think it would be advisable to attend a fair? I was thinking it might not be worthwhile (in a cost vs opportunity type equation) as it may not give me access to many places I would like to apply. Opinions on this?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »