British teacher looking to teach in the states

Saira

British teacher looking to teach in the states

Post by Saira »

Hi,

I am a British teacher, with a good degree and have been teaching for over 4 years now. I've always wanted to teach abroad, particularly in the States, but I keep being told the chances are very slim. After a lot of research, I've found very few opportunities and they also seem rather complicated! Please could any teacher who has been successful in this give any advice? Similarly anyone who works in the States and might be knowledgeable on this?

I'd really very much appreciate any and all advice!
chilagringa

Re: British teacher looking to teach in the states

Post by chilagringa »

Why the States? Working conditions are so much more enjoyable in international schools. Well, I taught in public school in Canada but I assume it would be similar.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

I think your chances would be quite good, given the severe teacher shortage in many states. There is a reason for that shortage, though, and I would discourage anyone from teaching in the U.S. unless you hook up with a good private school. Understand, however, that unlike the international schools in other countries, you will not be getting housing or a housing allowance, nor a "settling in" allowance, nor assistance getting the proper visa, nor airfare or shipping allowances.

I taught in the U.S. for 22 mostly-good years, but three months into my first overseas job, I vowed never to teach in the U.S. again.
mamava

Post by mamava »

In the US, you have to get a license and each state has it's own licensing arrangements. A lot of states will give you a certain amount of time to be compliant so you might be able to get a provisional until you are able to be state licensed. That's for public schools...private schools can hire teachers without the same conditions.