Diversity in International Education

Fibonacci

Diversity in International Education

Post by Fibonacci »

I have been reading this forum for a while, but this is my first time posting.

I am a Maths teacher who has just spent four years working in a middle management position in South East Asia. I have briefly returned to the UK for personal reasons. I am moving to a similar role at home, but it is my intention to go overseas again. And, I would like to look for a senior leadership position when I do.

My wife is asian (I met her when I was overseas). Could this have an effect on my employability? She is more qualified than me, but she is not a teacher. I have noticed that there seems to be little diversity in international school leadership. Very few managers are not married, fewer are married to someone of a different ethnicity, and even fewer are gay.

I've heard it said that there is an issue of image. How true is this? I am hoping that my limited experience is not representative of the international teaching world as a whole.

It goes without saying that these attitudes shouldn't exist, but might I be right in thinking that they are less prevalent in so-called 'top tier' schools?
sid

Re: Diversity in International Education

Post by sid »

To clarify two points, you're just looking for a job for you, right, not your wife? And are you both women, or was the gay example just an example?