Renewing US Teaching Licensure (TX) while abroad

Travelers

Renewing US Teaching Licensure (TX) while abroad

Post by Travelers »

Hello everyone.
I am certified under a 5 year certificate in Texas, and I have a Masters Degree in Teaching. I have been teaching internationally (in Bangkok and Korea) for 3 years and am looking into renewing my TX licensure but it is such a pain! The PD/CPE clock hour providers are almost exclusively in Texas and there are very few online options for CPE hours.
My question is: do any of you have a state licensure from somewhere where it is easier to renew your license? I might look into getting licensed in a different state that will be easier to re-certify in, since I plan on remaining abroad for a while. I'd love any advice!
Thank you!
teller

Re: Renewing US Teaching Licensure (TX) while abroad

Post by teller »

Does Texas allow for university credit in order to renew? If so, check out PBS TeacherLine:

http://www.pbs.org/teacherline/

A number of my colleagues have used these course to renew their licenses in various states. Check for the particulars, but I think once you've completed the course you send that information to one of the universities that accept PBS credit (check out "Graduate Information" in the "details" section of each course). You'll receive from the university a transcript that you've completed the course which you then send in to your state's department of education for your renewal.
mathewsp

Post by mathewsp »

Hi,
Florida DOE does accept college credits, if you are not currently teaching you may take college courses from an accredited college or university in the state of Florida. You must take as part of your renewal 2 college credits on Special Education, the other credits can be in anything related to teaching and education. YOu need a total of 6 hours (2-3 hr classes)which can all be done online. Hope this helps the website is http://www.fldoe.org/teaching/certification
National

Post by National »