Schools in Morocco

TeacherInThailand

Schools in Morocco

Post by TeacherInThailand »

I've never been to Morocco, but always wanted to visit. (and, for me, a "visit" to a country usually means a minimum of a monty, sometimes 2-3 months so I can really see what things are like)

While I've been teaching in Asia for a while now, I have very little knowledge of International Schools in that part of the world. Does anyone have any knowledge/experience teaching in Morocco? Would it be worth going for year?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

A few of the worst ISs in the world are in Morocco, real horror story, train wreck toxic dump ISs. The kind of rot you find in the wood at the bottom of the barrel.

Would the experience be worth it for a year, sure if you were really into Morocco. I think youd see and experience everything worth seeing and doing in 4 months. If your interested in a short term appointment an International supply/relief position for a term would accomplish the experiential goals while minimizing aggravation and frustration.
kevin

Re: Schools in Morocco

Post by kevin »

Morocco is a wonderful country to visit as a tourist, but I don't think I'd like to work there. It's a bit too chaotic, especially if you're living in the big cities and you never know what the "real" price is in many cases. In Marrakesh at least, people don't stop pestering you to buy this or that which is fine for a short period, but living there for a year or so it might get irritating (if you're white you'll always stick out and be the foreigner). Of course if you're interested in smaller cities they probably have a different and more relaxed ambiance. But, I imagine ISs don't operate there!